Day 7.
We packed up early and Grant gave us a lift from Hakuba house to the bus station. From there we got to Nagano terminal and I had to sort out my JR Rail Pass. I didn't even know if the pass was going to let me on to the Shinkansen bullet train back to Tokyo but the ticket officer assured me it would. At least I think that's what she said. I wasn't quite sure as her English wasn't very good and I had no Japanese language skills.
The train ride was fast and it only took 2 hours to get to Tokyo station where Besty said his goodbye's as he needed to meet a friend of his in Osaka before returning to Melbourne. The hectic life of a Jetstar employee.
We caught a connecting train to Shibuya and checked in at Hotel Unizo just a short walk north of the station.
The first thing we all agreed on was we needed to get some sushi into us, preferably off a moving conveyor belt. We found a small place out of the way called Sushi-Go-Round and it was perfect. Inexpensive sushi made right in front of us from fresh fish along with a big beer. After getting out fill we looked around for a good place to drink and also maybe get in some karaoke. We found a karaoke place but it didn't have what we wanted and was a little expensive. Strangely, Maria, the girl who worked there suggested an izakiya place. I can't remember exactly where this place was located but we got to sit in around a large table and drink lots of beer with edamame beans. They had a great system where you could order from a digital touch tablet and in moments an waiter or waitress would bring your order over. We ordered chicken wings and chips and lots of drinks. Afterwards we looked at the bill and thought there must have been a mistake as the charge was quite small but it was correct. We thanked our good luck and after we had our last drinks I headed back to the hotel while the others looked for a karaoke spot. I was beat but it was a great way to end the first night in Tokyo.
..or so I thought..
Being woken up at 5am by some drunk person jumping onto your bed is a pretty poor way to wake up. Being woken up by 3 drunk people jumping into your bed at the same time is not very fun. This is the price I paid for not being able to keep up with the others.
Day 8 is going to be tiring..
No comments:
Post a Comment